Turtle Race Archives - Date


Turtle Race Winners!

August 5, 2009

It was one of those crazy, wonderful turtle races. The threat of rain to the nearly 1500 estimated racing enthusiasts was always present but no one but the announcers seemed to notice or care. Of the 442 racers that descended on the racing circle, the happiest were the four racers that emerged as winners. The Grand Winner was nine-year-old Tommy Stout of Sigourney, Iowa. The Grand Slowpoke winners who won in a close tie were ten-year-old Jonah Zaimes of Iowa Falls, Iowa and four year old Brady Bergun of Eagan, MN. The fourth was Resort Race Winner, eight-year-old Hannah Jorgensen of Hampton, Iowa, who with her family was vacationing at Rainbow Bay Resort on Little Boy Lake.

Again, the hula-hoop contests and dance contests somehow stole the spotlight during the afternoon. Belting out a loud and clear Chicken Dance song were Rachel Brown of Duluth, Natalie Beiter of Coon Rapids, Jon Link of Eden Prairie, and Christina Larson of Round Lake, IL.

Three lucky racers won tickets to Valleyfair and Mall of America events. They were thirteen-year-old Joshua Peterson of Sauk Rapids, MN and ten-year-old Ciara Trojan of Minnetonka, MN. The winner of the $200 ticket package to Mall of America was fifteen-year-old Olivia Given of Austin, MN. The tickets are provided by BL Broadcasting of Brainerd. They operate four radio stations within the Brainerd area and which are heard here in Longville.

Sixteen resorts participated in the Resort Turtle Race. They were Pine Haven Resort, Longville Inn, Woman Lake Lodge, Timber Trails Resort, Deer Trail Resort, Shady Shores Resort, Rainbow Bay Resort, Pine Ridge Resort, Little Boy Resort, Trapper Landing Lodge, DOK Holiday Resort, View Point Resort, All Seasons Resort, Thunder Lake Lodge, Girl Lake Resort, and Family Tradition Resort.

The fun afternoon was made possible by twenty-five great community and business volunteers.


Resort Turtle Race Winner

Hannah Jorgensen, Age 8 from Hampton, IA
Representing Rainbow Bay Resort

Chicken Dance Singers, Left to Right:

Rachel Brown, Duluth, MN
Jon Link, Eden Prairie, MN
Natalie Beiter, Coon Rapids, MN
Christina Larson, Round Lake, IL

Turtle Race Winners & Judges

Front Row, Left to Right:
Grand Winner - Tommy Stout, Sigourney, IA; Age 9
Co-Grand Slowpoke Winner - Jonah Zaimes, Iowa Falls, IA; Age 10
Co-Grand Slowpoke Winner - Brady Bergun, Eagan, MN; Age 4

Back Row, Left to Right:
Madigan Doherty, Judge
Mackenzie Macfarland, Judge
Pat Boen, Chief Judge
Catherine Stagnaro, Judge
John Weins, Announcer
Machela Macfarland, Judge



© 2010 Longville Chamber of Commerce
PO Box 33, Longville, MN 56655 - Phone: 218-363-2630 or Toll Free: 800-756-7583 - Email: Chamber@Longville.com